Wednesday, October 14, 2009

Sahasrara (Seventh Chakra)

Chakra 7

The crown Chakra encompasses our muscular system, skeletal system and skin. The goal of this Chakra is expanded consciousness and the element is knowing.

When Chakra seven is not in balance we can experience a mistrust of life, selfishness inability to see the big picture, confusion, apathy and a lack of faith and inspiration A person may be overly intellectual to compensate for the spiritual void. Physically we might see depression, extreme sensitivities to light or sound, unexplained exhaustion.

When we have balance we have a deep understanding not necessarily in a proven way. We have a belief system and a connection to a higher power. This Chakra is less about the physical and more about how you feel, how you regard yourself as a thinking being.

The best yogic exercise for Sahasrara is meditation to quiet the mind and separating the ego (voice) from the true self.

Sahasrara translates to means “thousandfold”. It is a symbol for the petals of the lotus flower opening as our true self opens and experience the Divine.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...