Wednesday, October 14, 2009

Svadhisthana (Second Chakra)

Chakra two
The sacral Chakra governs our self worth, sexuality, ability to communicate, graceful movement, ability to adapt and experience pleasure. The element is water representing our ability to “go with the flow” in life and releasing control and guilt issues. For many people change is frightening and difficult so they may rather stay in an unhealthy place because it is familiar.

Svadhisthana encompasses sexual organs, lower vertebrae, pelvis, hips, bladder and appendix.
When Chakra two is unbalanced we may suffer from painful menstrual cycles, low back pain, sexual and urinary problems and knee or hip trouble. On occasion addictions can stem from this Chakra. One becomes controlled through addiction.

This Chakra begins to develop between ages two and four. The child begins to create their own individuality yet are under the guidance of the parents.

A healthy second Chakra promotes a healthy yin/yang existence, graceful movement, we can nurture and have the ability to experience pleasure and sensuality.

Often times, in yoga, you will hear that the hips are the seat of our emotions. We bury a lot of emotions in that area and when we begin to open the hips and groin in class we might experience some nausea, dizziness, anger, disconnect and even tears. But this is a good thing! The purpose is to feel it and set it free so that we make room to heal.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...